SOTD – Thirteen by Big Star

It’s been long enough that I fecklessly whimper about wishing I knew how to play guitar. I constantly assert to my parents that they should have forced me to play an instrument when I was younger, but I never do anything about it but complain. I have spare gift certificates for music lessons sitting on top of my dresser drawer, but I often forget they’re there. After researching and writing about music on a constant basis for the past 6 months, I feel like the simple act of typing up the my research into an online forum just isn’t enough. I need to put what I’m learning into words, I need to have some sort of cathartic musical expression…dammit, I need to start playing.

As a result of this desire, I’ll be picking up those music lesson gift certificates quite soon. The problem here is that investing in lessons takes time, and so does this blog. With the lack of time at my disposable, I’ve decided that I’ll be reducing the amount of Songs of the Day from 5 (every weekday) to two. These SOTDs will typically be on Tuesdays and Thursdays, thus freeing up time for me to take lessons and practice on the other days of the week. As a finalization of the 5 day SOTD cycle, I’ll be posting SOTD each day next week for the last time in a another installment of the SOTD Live Series.

“Thirteen” by Big Star is a fantastic representation of my desire to make up for lost time. It’s over 40 years old but might as well have been made yesterday if not for the line “Won’t you tell your dad, get off my back / Tell him what we said ’bout Paint It Black.” It received next to no air time on the radio, yet has been ranked as one of Rolling Stone’s top 500 greatest songs of all time for it’s ability to capture the simple yet anxious lifestyle of about two kids in love with Rock & Roll and each other. Discovering love and music as a young kid often inspires these adolescents to pick up an instrument and express their feelings in whatever way they can, as is seen through the eyes of the triumphant youth in “Thirteen” trying to assert his position as a self-assured teenager. I obviously have no way of reliving those days, but maybe in a few months I’ll be able to sings songs about them.

Leave a Reply

